* Login  * FAQ    * Search
It is currently Sat Apr 29, 2017 10:23 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

[ 6 posts ] 
 Post subject: Mountains of Concrete
PostPosted: Sat Sep 20, 2008 11:23 pm 
Engineer

I have had a lot of questions about the construction of rockwork. I must confess that I have little experience with making mountains out of anything except foam and concrete. My G scale layout is outdoors and so concrete is the material of choice. Many of the techniques that I have used can be employed equally as well with resin. This thread will start out with a straightforward presentation of what I did., then we’ll see where it goes.

DESIGN
It is hard to describe how something was created from a construction technique point of view without discussing the whole design process, so bear with me as I discuss the process that I went through and take from it what you will.