* Login   * Register * FAQ    * Search
It is currently Mon Jun 26, 2017 1:52 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours [ DST ]

[ 13 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
 Post subject: Creating Custom Decals
PostPosted: Sun Mar 22, 2009 10:36 pm 
Engineer

This thread will discuss different methods of decal creation that I have experimented with while making various DLRR models. This is only my experience and I would welcome anyone’s comments or differing experience. The topics will be:

1) Original art creation
2) Paper Decals
3) Wet applied decals: commercial or homemade
4) Dry transfer decals (DecalPro method)
5) Silk Screening
6) Off set printing
7) Vinyl stickers

Original Art
To start with, I am not a graphic artist and not familiar with the programs that should be used to create this art. Programs such as Corel Draw or Adobe Illustrator would be the ones that most people would use. I am familiar with CADD and so that is what I will show here. The approach would be similar no matter what you use.

I start with a scan of the locomotive from Steve’s book. This I enlarge to the size that I wish to model. This is a relative process. I have used the height of the cab as my reference in the past setting the height of the cab in the scanned image to the height of the model that I am kit bashing. This way the engine will look proportionate to the rolling stock. You could use the size of the drivers or any element of the original model that you wish to keep.